How to Use Color in Magic Spells


Nefer Khepri Hemet, Ph. D., R. M-T.

Magickal-Musings Nefer Khepri Hemet

Create Your Badge 

You can obtain this information from practically any book on magic or Wicca.  Just bear in mind that different magical traditions may have slightly different associations for the colors.  The best advice I can give to you in choosing a color for candles is this:

First of all, if you don't have the proper color called for in a spell, use white.  White represents the entire spectrum of light, and therefore, contains every color of the rainbow.

Secondly, if a spell says use red, but your intuition tells you blue, then by all means, follow your own intuition and use blue.  Your intuition is your direct connection to the Divine and it will never lead you astray.

And now, on to the most common colors and what they represent.


White              Spiritual purity, protection, good to use if no other color is available.

                        The color of the Crown Chakra.  The New to Full Moon.  The Maiden aspect of the

                         Goddess.   Isis.


Black              Banishing:  absorbs and then repels negative energy.  Sometimes related to the Root Chakra (1st Chakra).  The Void

                         Moon.   Crone aspect of the Goddess.   Bastet, Anubis, Black Isis, Sekmet.


Gray                Neutrality.  Used to clear up confusion and to establish sacred space.  Root chakra.


Brown             The home and family, marriage. Pets. Gnomes, Trolls, Elves, & Dwarves.  Root chakra.  Osiris.


Yellow          The mind and intellect, studying & learning, creativity.  The color of the Solar Plexus     Chakra (3rd Chakra).  The Sun.  Element of   Air.   Horus, Ra.


Peach              Gentleness, joy, friendship, children..  Connected to the Navel Chakra (2nd Chakra).


Orange            Energy, success, strength.  The color of the Navel Chakra (2nd Chakra). 

                        The Sun.  The Element of Fire.  Horus, Ra, Sekmet, all solar deities.


Red                 Passion, love, courage, energy, protection. The color of the Root Chakra

                        (1st Chakra).  The rising or setting sun.  The Element of Fire.   Horus, Ra, Sekmet, Hathor.


Pink                Emotions, harmony, friendships, self love.  A good color for emotional healing or

                      for healing a broken friendship.  Connected to the Heart Chakra (4th).


Rose               Self love (as in, rose quartz), can make relationships stronger.  Connected

                       to the Heart Chakra (4th Chakra).


Green              Healing of all kinds, prosperity, employment, fertility, good luck.  The

                        color of the Heart Chakra (4th Chakra).   Osiris.


Blue Green     Calming, emotional healing.  Connected to the Heart Chakra (4th Chakra).

                      The Element of Water.   Osiris, Isis, Hathor.


Turquoise      Calming, meditation, the Sky Father.  Connected to the Throat Chakra (5th

                     Chakra).  The Element of Water.   Hathor, Ra.


Blue                Peace and tranquility, healing, meditation, forgiveness.  The color of the

                       Throat Chakra (5th Chakra).  The Element of Water.   Isis.


Lavender            Spiritual protection, intuition.  Connected to the Third Eye Chakra (6th



Purple             Wisdom, psychic abilities, authority, spirituality, awareness.  The color

                        of the Third Eye Chakra (6th Chakra) and connected to the Crown Chakra

                        (7th Chakra).


Working with the Moon

Spells and Enchantments